Uniuyo Faculty of Agriculture

Brief Introduction of the Faculty
The Faculty of Agriculture of the University of Uyo grew out of the Department of Agriculture, which was originally in the Faculty of Natural and Applied Sciences, now Faculty of Science. The faculty came into being in 1988/89 academic session when academic activities commenced at the Okuku Campus, Ogoja, of the erstwhile University of Cross River State with three pioneer departments, namely: Agricultural Economics and Extension, Agronomy and Animal Science.

Following the series of transformations from a State owned University to a Federal University, the assets and liabilities of the faculty were transferred to the University of Uyo in the 1991/92 academic session. Presently, the faculty is made up of eight departments, namely, Agricultural Economics and Extension, Animal Science, Crop Science, Fisheries and Aquaculture, Food Science and Technology, Forestry and Wildlife, Home Economics and Soil Science.

The academic programmes of the faculty lead to the award of Bachelor of Agriculture with options in Agricultural Economics and Extension, Crop Science, Soil Science and Animal Science; Bachelor of Science in Home Economics, and Food Science and Technology; Bachelor of Science in Fisheries and Aquaculture; and Bachelor of Forestry.

Philosophy of the Faculty
The philosophy of the Faculty is the training of production-oriented graduates in the various areas of Agriculture. The programmes are designed to mobilize resources effectively and create opportunities for profit maximization in agriculture which can only be achieved by having quality persons in the different disciplines of Agriculture.

Academic Programmes
(B. Agric) – Agricultural Economics and Extension, Crop Science, Soil Science and Animal Science.
(B. Sc) – Home Economics, Fisheries and Aquaculture, Food Science and Technology.
(B. Forestry) – Forestry and Wildlife. 

Uniuyo Faculty of Agriculture Dean’s Profile
Prof. Ini A. AkpabioB.Agric. (Agricultural Extension) Nsukka, M.Sc; Ph.D (Ibadan)
Dean’s Area of Specialisation/Research Interest:
Environmental Extension, Rural Gender and Youth Issues, Rural Development.


Uniuyo Law Faculty
Uniuyo Faculty of Pharmacy
Uniuyo Faculty of Science
Uniuyo Faculty of Engineering
Uniuyo Faculty of Arts

Uniuyo Faculty Of Agriculture

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Alert: Content selection is disabled!!