The University of Uyo

It is with great pleasure that I welcome you to the University of uyo.
The University of Uyo was established October 1, 1991 by the Federal Government of Nigeria. The University of Uyo inherited students, staff, academic programmes and the entire facilities of the erstwhile University of Cross River State established by Cross River State in 1983. Academic activities commenced during the 1991/92 Academic Session.

the uniuyo

As a centre for academic excellence, the UNIVERSITY OF UYO, AKWA IBOM STATE – NIGERIA shall strive towards sustainable human and technological development through the utilization of the vast resources available within its environs in teaching, research, Community Service and problem solving ventures without prejudice to maintaining a friendly environment.

The UNIVERSITY OF UYO, AKWA IBOM STATE – NIGERIA shall be a centre of excellence in teaching, learning and research through the development, deployment and retention of sound scholarship. The rich cultural heritage of Nigeria shall be promoted. The economic growth of the country shall be sustained through active development in science and technology with sensitivity and response to global environmental changes

In the heart of Uyo, capital of Akwa Ibom State, Nigeria’s second largest oil producing state. Uyo is easily accessible by road or air via the international airport
Currently, it operates from two temporary campuses and a permanent campus; the Main Campus which accommodates the Central Administration, Faculties of Arts, Education, Social Sciences, Natural and Applied Sciences, Pharmacy and the Post Graduate School. The Annex Campus is home for the Faculties of Agriculture, Business Administration, Law, Environment Studies and General studies.
The permanent site of the University along Nwaniba Road, Uyo is about 4.5 km from the city centre and covers an area of about 1,443 hectares. Its home of the faculty of Engineering and construction of the administrative block, hostels and other buildings are going on at the site.


The Library has an active collection of above 46,745 volumes and handles about 409,977 lending and reference enquiries annually. Current journals stand at 271 representing all disciplinary interests.
The Library is equipped with modern computers and has a reading space of 970.51 metres with seating capacity for 698.
Currently, there are four main divisions: Acquisition, Lending, Processing and Research. The Research Division comprises Reference, Serials, Special Collections and Government Collections. The Special Collection is comprised of Nyong Essien, Africana and Government Collection. Acquisition and Processing selects and orders Library materials and organizes them for effective use. The Public Service Division deals directly with Readers and regulates the use of Library Materials. It also handles reference questions.
The Office of university Librarian provides data for planning, budgeting, control and co-ordination of the entire Library.


The University Health Centre provides free health services to students, staff and staff family members. It is open to the public. Routine services provided include:

  • Consultation
  • Medical certification
  • ante-natal care
  • family planning
  • General Surgery
  • Medical and Laboratory Services
  • Out-patient and in-patient care
  • Environmental and preventive health services.

Sports is an integral part of the University curriculum. The University is a member of the Nigerian University Games Association, NUGA, and participates at zonal and national championships in a number of sports including football, athletics and basketball.


One Response

  1. victor
    October 24, 2016

Write a response